AAP To Appeal Against Disqualification Of 20 MLAs In Delhi HC Today

Adjust Comment Print

In a blow to the AAP, the EC had on Friday asked the President to disqualify its 20 MLAs.

"The charge against the 20 AAP legislators is that they accepted another office of profit - of "Parliamentary Secretary" - and hence forfeited their posts as elected peoples' representatives", the Sena said.

The disqualification order, which was signed by the President on January 20, noted that in the light of the opinion expressed by the Election Commission, 20 members of the Delhi legislative assembly were disqualified.

The AAP sources said that the party will file a fresh petition in Delhi High Court seeking quashing its MLAs.

There is no immediate threat to Chief Minister Kejriwal's government as AAP has 66 seats in the 70-member Assembly.

The poll panel had held that MLAs were "de facto holders of the office of parliamentary secretaries". Sisodia, however, maintained that none of the MLAs received any perks or pecuniary benefits for holding the parliamentary secretary positions and claimed that the disqualification was a "gross injustice by the central government".

"In response to my letter, in November 2016, the ECI stated that it goes into the disqualification of sitting MLAs only if a reference is made to it by the governor of the state concerned", Akbar said.

IEDs in Florida Mall Exploded; No Accidents Reported
Smoke billowed out from a corridor near one of the stores at Eagle Ridge Mall , in central Florida , following the blasts. The FBI said it will continue work with state and local law enforcement to identify the person or persons responsible.

Senior AAP leader Ashutosh said the President's order to disqualify AAP MLAs is "unconstitutional" and "dangerous for democracy".

An AAP argument is that other states like Rajasthan, Karnataka and Telangana assemblies too have Parliament secretaries, who haven't been disqualified.

Meanwhile, Delhi's ruling party took on Prime Minister Narendra Modi alleging manipulation of the poll watch dog.

They include transport minister Kailash Gahlot. The high court's earlier decision nullifying the notification by which these 20 MLAs were given the secretarial post, meant that the posts were no longer valid.

The BJP has four seats in the house; the Congress has none. It is deplorable that while making sweeping allegations against all the constitutional bodies, AAP has not spared even the President and attributed political motives to him. "The doors of the courts are open to us".

"They (BJP) have been trying to derail us in the last three years. The Constitution is supreme and is the law of the land and has been protected by our Judiciary time and again".