Facebook's Snooze lets you unfollow someone for 30 days

Adjust Comment Print

If you're exhausted of putting up with a particular person, group or page for a while, just click the menu in the upper right-hand corner of their latest post and click "Snooze" and you won't see anything from them for 30 days. With features like Unfollow, Hide, Report and See First, we've consistently worked toward helping people tailor their News Feed experience, so the time they spend on Facebook is time well spent. Facebook's Shruthi Muraleedharan writes, "One of our core News Feed values is giving people more control". Even after purging half of my "friends", I couldn't put up with all of the nonsense littering my feed on a daily basis.

You probably won't have noticed it yet but you can now find the button in the top-right drop-down menu of every post. The people, Pages, and groups you snooze will not be notified.

In case you change your mind about seeing their posts again, Facebook will notify you when the Snooze period is coming to an end.

US State Department: not right time for North Korea talks
Earlier this year, Trump tweeted that Tillerson was "wasting his time" negotiating with North Korea. Tillerson said his boss, President Donald Trump, endorses this position.


The company also posted a blog co-written by research director David Ginsberg and Moira Burke, a research scientist at Facebook, on Friday titled: "Hard Questions: Is Spending Time on Social Media Bad for Us?". But Facebook's elimination of the Ticker tool earlier this week anxious some users that the company was trying to restrict this control.

"We want Facebook to be a place for meaningful interactions with your friends and family - enhancing your relationships offline, not detracting from them".

And Facebook is working on suicide prevention, including support on Facebook Live and artificial intelligence to detect suicidal posts before they are reported.

Comments