WhatsApp rolls out 'delete for everyone' feature

Adjust Comment Print

Finally, WhatsApp, the messaging application used globally by over a billion users, will allow messages sent to a private individual or group to be deleted immediately after.

The recalled message will be also deleted in the notifications center (on iOS) of the recipient at the exact moment you have revoked it (if the Internet connection is available for the user).

To do this, you will need to hold the message you wish to recall, then choose "Delete" from the menu then "Delete for Everyone".

There are however some caveats, as reported by the source, with the first being you can only delete messages within 7 minutes of sending them. It is also possible that the recipient [s] might see the message before it is deleted or if the app malfunctions and deletion is unsuccessful. It is unclear when the Facebook-owned plans to roll out support to edit sent messages anytime soon. WhatsApp has finally rolled one of the most requested features to its Android, iOS and Windows Phone app. Optionally, select more messages to delete multiple messages at once.

· Be careful to send messages that you want to delete for everyone to symbian users. Seven minutes in my view should be long enough to retract any message sent to a wrong recipient. Deleted messages will be supplanted by "This message was deleted for everybody". With this latest update, you'll now have the option to delete a message either just for yourself or for you and the person it was sent to.

JR Smith to play against Bulls; LeBron James moves to point guard
"I'm being more of a precise, precision passer and I'm not kind of full speed ahead in transition", James said. Victor Oladipo scored 28 points and Cory Joseph added 21 to lead hot-shooting IN past Minnesota 130-107.


The feature was leaked earlier this year, along with "Unsend", which started rolling out to users today.

- Message inside a quoted message can not be recalled.

WhatsApp has also published a guide on how to "delete messages for everyone" on its website. "It's give you the option to tap on OK and learn more". This fake message does not show up on the notification nor is it shown on the chat history. That can be handy if you sent something to someone by mistake, you made a typo, or you regretted saying something, and so on.

But how the Delete for Everyone feature really works?

Comments